Symphony no. 1

The Orchestral Music of Robert Helps

Symphony no. 1 (1953-55) — Helps' first major orchestral composition won him considerable recognition (a Fromm Foundation award and the Walter W. Naumberg award). The central Adagio was the first to be composed and was performed separately under the golden baton of Leopold Stokowski. The composer deftly surrounds this powerful and symmetrical slow movement with two energetic “Sonata-form” satellites. This work was major success in establishing Helps' original compositional voice and his independence from the ambient serial/academic discourse of the era.


Original Vinyle of Symphony no.1

I — Energico e marcato

II — Adagio

III — Allegro con moto

 Listen to movement II, Adagio
Non-serial thriller: Helps in front of his
Brooklyn Heights apartment circa 1955
Sound clip - Symphony no.1, II

Thematic tours | Composer | Pianist | Persona | Site Map | Contact